Links

We offer these resources because they contain interesting information and perspectives on efforts to secure a just peace in Israel and Palestine. The views are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of CJPIP.

____________________________________________________

News, research, opinion, and analysis

Alternative Information Center (AIC)

Coteret: News, analysis and opinion from the Israeli Hebrew media

Electronic Intifada

Foundation for Middle East Peace

Ha’aretz (English)

How Many Weapons to Israel?

If Americans Knew

Israeli Occupation Archive

Indymedia Independent Media Center Israel

International Middle East Media Center (IMEMC)

The Jerusalem Fund for Education and Community Development

Occupation Magazine (Kibush)

Palestine Monitor

Ramallah On Line (English)

ZNet Israel/Palestine Watch

 

Peace and Justice Groups (Americas/Europe)

Committee for a Just Peace in Israel and Palestine

Jewish Voice for Peace

US Campaign to End the Israeli Occupation

American Friends Service Committee-Chicago

Al-Awda Palestinian Right to Return Coalition

Arab Jewish Partnership for Peace and Justice in the Middle East

Coalition to Stop $30 Billion to Israel (Albuquerque, New Mexico)

Colorado Campaign for Middle East Peace

Chicago Faith Coalition on Middle East Policy

American Jews for a Just Peace

Churches for Middle East Peace

Canadians for Justice and Peace in the Middle East

European Jews for a Just Peace

Fellowship of Reconciliation

International Jewish Anti-Zionist Network

Independent Jewish Voices (Canada)

Middle East Children’s Alliance

Palestine Solidarity Committee—Seattle

Pax Christi USA

Friends of Sabeel North America

Vermonters for a Just Peace in Palestine/Israel

 

Activist Groups (Israel/Palestine)

Anarchists Against the Wall  http://www.awalls.org/

Bat Shalom Israeli Women for Peace  http://www.batshalom.org/

Bilin Village nonviolent resistance movement  http://www.bilin-village.org/english/

Breaking the Silence  http://www.breakingthesilence.org.il/index_e.asp

Christian Peacemaker Teams  http://www.cpt.org/

Free Gaza Movement  http://www.freegaza.org/

Gush Shalom  http://zope.gush-shalom.org/index_en.html

International Solidarity Movement  http://palsolidarity.org/

Israeli Committee Against House Demolitions  http://www.icahd.org/

Machsom Watch  http://www.machsomwatch.org/en

The Palestinian Center for Rapprochement between People  http://www.pcr.ps/

Palestine Solidarity Project  http://palestinesolidarityproject.org/

Popular Struggle Coordination Committee  http://www.popularstruggle.org/

Sheikh Jarrah eviction protest  http://www.en.justjlm.org/

Shiministim Israeli high school draft resisters  http://www.shministim.com/

Stop the Wall  http://stopthewall.org/index.shtml

Ta’ayush  http://www.taayush.org

Women in Black  http://www.womeninblack.org/en/history

Yesh Gvul  http://yeshgvul.org

Zochrot (Remembering)  http://www.zochrot.org/index.php?lang=english

 

Human Rights Groups (Palestine/Israel)

Association for Civil Rights in Israel  http://www.acri.org.il/eng/

Adalah Legal Center for Arab Minority Rights in Israel  http://www.adalah.org/eng/index.php

Addamer Palestinian Prisoners’ Support and Human Rights Association  http://www.addameer.org/index_eng.html

Amnesty International  http://www.amnesty.org/en/region/israel-occupied-palestinian-territories

Al-Haq Human Rights in the Occupied Palestinian Territories  http://www.alhaq.org/

Badil Resource center for Palestinian residency and Refugee Rights  http://www.badil.org/

Right to Education Campaign, Birzeit University  http://right2edu.birzeit.edu/

B’Tselem, the Israeli Information Center for Human Rights in the Occupied Territories  http://www.btselem.org/

Centre on Housing Rights and Evictions  http://www.cohre.org/opt

Gisha Legal Center for Freedom of Movement  http://www.gisha.org/

HAMOKED Center for the Defence of the Individual  http://www.hamoked.org/home.aspx

Israeli Committee Against House Demolitions  http://www.icahd.org/

New Israel Fund  http://www.nif.org/

Public Committee Against Torture in Israel  http://www.stoptorture.org.il/en

Palestinian Centre for Human Rights  http://www.pchrgaza.org/portal/en/

Physicians for Human Rights – Israel  http://www.phr.org.il/default.asp?PageID=4

Regional Council for Unrecognized Villages in the Negev  http://www.rcuv.net/en/index.asp

Campaign for the right to enter the Occupied Palestinian Territory (OPT)  http://www.righttoenter.ps/

Yesh Din Volunteers for Human Rights  http://www.yesh-din.org/site/index.php?page=index&lang=en&id=

 

Boycott, divestment, and sanctions (BDS)

For websites with particularly useful BDS resources visit:

http://www.wedivest.org
http://sodastreamboycott.org/
http://globalexchange.org/economicactivism/campaigns
http://www.endtheoccupation.org
http://whoprofits.org
http://www.bdsmovement.net/

 

Adalah The New York Campaign for the Boycott of Israel  http://adalahny.org/
Bay Area Campaign to End Israeli Apartheid  http://www.baceia.org/

Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions-Oregon  http://bdsoregon.wordpress.com/

Global Movement Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions for Palestine  http://bdsmovement.net/

Olympia BDS  http://www.olympiabds.org/

JVP report on Campus Divestment  http://www.jewishvoiceforpeace.org/campaigns/campus-divestment

Interfaith Peace Initiative Catalog of Global BDS Actions  http://www.interfaithpeaceinitiative.com/globalactions.pdf

A brief history of BDS, by Mazin Qumsiyeh  http://qumsiyeh.org/boycottsanddivestment/

Boycott! Supporting the Palestinian BDS call from within (Israel)  http://boycottisrael.info/
Boycott Israeli Goods Campaign, UK  http://www.bigcampaign.org/
Cal Divest From Apartheid  http://www.caldivestfromapartheid.com/
Canadian teachers union Ontario divison approves BDS  http://www.ynetnews.com/articles/0,7340,L-3256307,00.html
Carleton Students Against Israeli Apartheid BDS  http://www.carleton.saia.ca/

Caterpillar campaign  http://www.endtheoccupation.org/section.php?id=158

Desmond Tutu: “Of Occupation and Apartheid, Do I Divest?”   http://www.counterpunch.org/tutu1017.html

Georgetown University, Divest  http://georgetowndivest.wordpress.com/

Methodist Church [UK] Boycott of settlement goods  http://www.methodist.org.uk/index.cfm?fuseaction=opentogod.newsDetail&newsid=453

Norway BDS campaign  http://www.boikottisrael.no/

Olympia Food Co-Op boycott of Israeli goods  http://www.olympiafood.coop/BoycottPressRelease-20100721.pdf

Palestinian Campaign for the Academic and Cultural Boycott of Israel  http://www.pacbi.org/index.php

Palestinian Civil Society Call for Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions (BDS), 2005 http://bdsmovement.net/?q=node/52

Palestinian BDS Committee reaffirms call for BDS, 2010 http://www.badil.org/en/press-releases/135-2010/2457-press-eng-22

Progressive Jews from Europe, Israel, and North America call for Israeli boycott, 2009 http://psychoanalystsopposewar.org/blog/2009/03/30/3171/

Spain BDS campaign http://www.nodo50.org/csca/palestina/campanya_boicot-2002.html

TIAA-CREF Divest by Jewish Voice for Peace (JVP) http://www.jewishvoiceforpeace.org/campaigns/tiaa-cref-divest-occupation

Toronto Declaration: No Celebration of Occupation http://torontodeclaration.blogspot.com/2009/09/toronto-declaration-no-celebration-of.html

UCSD Divest for Peace http://www.ucsddivestforpeace.org/

UNISON British Labor Unionpledges support for Palestine http://www.unison.org.uk/news/news_view.asp?did=3414

United Nations International Conference in Support of Middle East Peace endorses BDS http://www.reliefweb.int/rw/RWB.NSF/db900SID/KHII-6EA38R?

94 artists call for cultural boycott http://www.pacbi.org/etemplate.php?id=415

“Why Do I Boycott Israel?” [comic] by Ethan Heitner http://www.yippeeskippy.com/worldwar3illustrated/wordpress/?p=463

 

Palestine/Israel: introduction to the issue (web resources)

Palestine, Israel and the Arab-Israeli Conflict, A Primer, by Joel Beinin and Lisa Hajjar http://merip.org/palestine-israel_primer/toc-pal-isr-primer.html

Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer, by Phyllis Bennis [2007] http://www.endtheoccupation.org/article.php?list=type&type=52

Israeli-Palestinian Conflict 101, Jewish Voice for Peace, Adapted from the the Institute of Middle East Understanding (IMEU)’s background briefings. http://www.jewishvoiceforpeace.org/content/israeli-palestinian-conflict-101

The Origin of the Palestine-Israel Conflict, by Jews for Justice in the Middle East http://www.angelfire.com/hero/eto/jewsforjustice.html

Truth Against Truth, by Gush Shalom/Israeli Peace Bloc (downloadable PDF booklet) http://zope.gush-shalom.org/home/en/channels/downloads/truth/

Top Ten Myths about the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, by Jeremy R. Hammond, founder and editor of Foreign Policy Journal http://www.foreignpolicyjournal.com/2010/06/17/top-ten-myths-about-the-israeli-palestinian-conflict/

Video: 5000 Years of History in 90 Seconds – Imperial History of the Middle East http://www.mapsofwar.com/ind/imperial-history.html

An Introduction to the Israel-Palestine Conflict [2002], by Dr. Norman G. Finkelstein http://www.normanfinkelstein.com/article.php?ar=10&pg=4

Jews From the Middle East: a Jewish Voice for Peace Fact Sheet https://salsa.democracyinaction.org/o/301/images/jewsofthemiddleeast.pdf

 

Key Events
Electronic Intifada: “Notable milestones of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, such as May 2004’s “Operation Rainbow” in Gaza and the August 2004 hunger strike by Palestinian prisoners. See Key Historical Events for information on larger historical events such as the Nakba and Sabra & Shatila Massacres.” http://electronicintifada.net/bytopic/keyevents.shtml

Electronic Intifada: “Information about key historical milestones in Palestinian and international history, including the Nakba, the Deir Yassin Massacre, Land Day, the Sabra & Shatila Massacres, 9/11 and “Operation Defensive Shield”. http://electronicintifada.net/bytopic/historicalevents.shtml

The Nakba: Jewish Voice for Peace Fact Sheet “60 years after Israeli independence and the Palestinian Nakba, or Catastrophe, this fact sheet details what led up to the Catastrophe, who are the Palestinian refugees, the role of the UN, and why Jews should care.” https://salsa.democracyinaction.org/o/301/images/Nakbafactsheet1.pdf

Palestine: The Truth About 1948 [1988], Dr. Norman G. Finkelstein – online essay, http://www.nimn.org/Resources/history/000054.php?section=

 

Conscientious Objection to Military Service in Israel

New Profile: AMovement for the Civil-ization of Israeli Society http://www.newprofile.org/english/

Shministim: Young Israelis speak their conscience http://www.whywerefuse.org/

Courage to Refuse/Seruv http://www.seruv.org.il/English/default.asp

Yesh Gvul: An Israeli group supporting soldiers with the difficult decision to refuse military service. http://www.yeshgvul.org/index_e.asp

Combatants for Peace: an organization made up of former Palestinian freedom fighters and former Israeli soldiers—“only by joining forces, will we be able to end the cycle of violence, the bloodshed and the occupation and oppression of the Palestinian people.” http://cfpeace.org/

Refuser Solidarity Network: “Ending the occupation one soldier at a time” http://www.refusersolidarity.net/

 

Israel and International Arms Trade

Arming the occupation: Israel and the Arms Trade [2002], Campaign Against Arms Trade (CAAT), London, http://caat.org.uk/information/publications/countries/israel-1002.php

Arms to Israel, http://www.caat.org.uk/issues/israel.php

Military trade Philips in violation with Dutch arms policy, Campagne tegen Wapenhandel [2004], http://electronicintifada.net/v2/article2557.shtml

MPs call for review of arms exports after Israeli assault on Gaza, The Guardian [UK] [3/30/10], www.guardian.co.uk/world/2010/mar/30/arms-british-gaza-assault

Neged Neshek
: resource for news, data and analysis focusing on Israel’s arms industry with a secondary focus on militarism in Israeli culture, society and politics
Undermining Global Security: the European Union’s arms exports [2004], Amnesty International, http://www.amnesty.org/en/library/info/ACT30/003/2004

 

Blogs

Dispatches from Gaza by Ashley Bates http://gazadispatches.blogspot.com/ePalestine

Sam Bahour http://epalestine.blogspot.com/

Dimi’s Notes by Dmitry Reider http://reider.wordpress.com/

Foreign Policy by Stephen Walt http://walt.foreignpolicy.com/

Gaza Mom by Laila El-Haddad http://www.gazamom.com/

Hybrid States by Yaniv Reich http://www.hybridstates.com/

Jewish Peace News http://www.jewishpeacenews.blogspot.com/

Commentary from Israel and the West Bank by Joseph Dana http://josephdana.com/

Max Blumenthal http://maxblumenthal.com/

Sharing the Land of Canaan by Mazin Qumsiyeh http://qumsiyeh.org/rightsblog2010/

Love Under Apartheid http://loveunderapartheid.com/

Mondoweiss by Philip Weiss and Adam Horowitz http://mondoweiss.net/

Muzzlewatch–Tracking censorship on Israel/Palestine (Jewish Voice for Peace) http://www.muzzlewatch.com/

Popular Struggle Organization Committee in the occupied territories http://www.popularstruggle.org/

Rabbibrian’s Blog by Rabbi Brian Walt http://rabbibrian.wordpress.com/

Reports from Sheikh Jarrah http://www.en.justjlm.org/

Shalom Rav by Rabbi Brant Rosen http://rabbibrant.com/

Susiya Forever http://susiyaforever.wordpress.com/

The Magnes Zionist by Jeremiah Haber http://www.jeremiahhaber.com/

The Only Democracy? by Jewish Voice for Peace http://theonlydemocracy.org/

Tikun Olam by Richard Silverstein http://www.richardsilverstein.com/tikun_olam/

Wallwritings by James Wall http://wallwritings.wordpress.com/

 

Recommended e-mail news distribution services

Electronic Intifada News http://www.electronicintifada.net/

Jewish Peace News http://www.jewishpeacenews.net/

Occupation News http://groups.yahoo.com/group/OccupationNews/

 

Maps

Palestinian Loss of Land, 1946 to 2000 http://www.vtjp.org/images/pallossofland_large.gif

MIFTAH http://www.miftah.org/Maps.cfm

Foundation for Middle East Peace http://www.fmep.org/maps/all-maps

B’Tselem http://www.btselem.org/English/Maps/Index.asp

Palestinian Academic Society for the Study of International Affairs – Jerusalem http://www.passia.org/palestine_facts/MAPS/

Interactive map of Palestinian villages destroyed in Nakba
http://electronicintifada.net/blog/ali-abunimah/interactive-map-palestine-villages-destroyed-nakba